Lucky And Me

I actually have something to say

The King’s Speech (Movie Review) March 29, 2011

Filed under: Movies — Jessica @ 5:50 pm

I’m a huge fan of movies. So naturally, seeing at how this one took home many Academy Awards, I just had to see it. I know it’s rated R, but only for language (very funny language at that, too). I must say, Colin Firth did the best job in playing a stammerer, and Geoffrey Rush was so funny as the speech doctor, and I just always love Helena Bonham Carter, so the actors were great in this movie.

But there’s more to it. Surely, you know this movie has more to do with a man with a stammer. It’s about overcoming fear, it’s about the value of friendship, about what one could do for love, it’s about coming out, it’s about having a voice.

The screenplay, by David Seidler, is an inspiration for all. I think when I grow up, I’d like to write screenplays or be a director for movies.

I think this is the reason why The King’s Speech nabbed so many awards, instead of Inception, or True Grit, because the movies that are real, the ones that touch your heart, the ones that you know are true, tend to make a bigger impact on you than one that is supernatural or a Sci-fi thriller.

This is Lucky, and that’s all I have to say about The King’s Speech.

 

 
The Friendly Intern

practical answers to practical questions for the medical trainee

in oceans deep

my faith will stand

16til26*

*izzy, 25